Julie & Julia’s Potato Soup – Simplicity is a Bliss

I bought the book Julie and Julia on sale at $6.99 four years ago, but I did not continue reading it, I found it lousy and overly narrated. But I got interested with the movie since it starred Meryl Streep who was nominated as Best Actress at Oscars Awards 2010 and the review were also astounding.

I was impressed, the movie was so clear and emotional and straightforward. So I decided to continue reading the book, when I encounter too much narration, I just decided to bear it. 🙂

Good thing I am getting something from the book, and I think I will keep on reading it until the last page. The very first recipe it talked about for a chapter or two was Potato Soup. Here are the details:

Ingredients:

Sliced potatoes

Potatoes
Leeks /Spring onions
Butter
Salt and Pepper

Procedure:

1. Boil the peeled Potatoes with Butter, chopped Leeks, salt and
pepper in the sauce pan until the potatoes are tender.
2. Sieve the potatoes soup though a straining and mash through it ,
or put it in the blender and puree it until smooth.
3. Put it back to your sauce pan on the fire until it boil, you can add
butter and taste.

Potato Soup

4. Serve hot.

This is a very simple soup but it is heavenly good! Even the author did not understand what’s with Butter, Potato and Leek that made it so good. If you are making this for kids or babies, you can take the pepper out.

Leave a Reply

